Department of English

Navigation + Search

Department of English Newsletter: June 2017

Date posted: June 5th, 2017

in this issue

Post Retirement Life/Faculty Notes/Writing Program Awards/Alumni News/Past Faculty:Lyon Norman Richardson/Graduation 2017

Post Retirement Life
by Judith Oster
When Mary Grimm asked me to write “about [my] post retirement life—teaching and living in another country,” flattered though I was, something in her request sounded a strange note and I soon realized it was her term “another country.” I am of course in a country other than my almost native USA, where I will always feel at home, but having worked so much in the field of “others” and “othering,” I had to ask myself is Israel really “other” to me?  …Read more.

Department of English Newsletter: March 2017

Date posted: March 30th, 2017

in this issue

Postgrad:LA/Faculty Notes/Faculty Spotlight/Alumni News/Past Faculty: Oliver Farrar Emerson/Schedule of Events

Postgrad in the Entertainment Industry
by Samantha Flinn
The year 2009 was probably the worst time for any college senior to graduate and enter the workforce. …Read more.

Department of English Newsletter: December 2016

Date posted: December 19th, 2016

in this issue
Carlisle Interview/Faculty Notes/Ongoing Projects: Iris Dunkle/Past Faculty: Katherine Harriet Porter/Alumni News/Thank You/
Interview with Anne Carlisle (’73)
A published novelist and journalist, Dr. …Read more.

Department of English: September 2016

Date posted: October 3rd, 2016

in this issue

Letter from the Chair/Faculty Notes/Writers House/Past Faculty: Eleanor Thomas/Summer Project: Wiehl/Alumni News/Rare Book School/Project Narrative

Letter from the Chair
Dear Friends of English,
We have been busy. …Read more.

Collation Boot Camp: My Time at the University of Virginia’s Rare Book School

Date posted: September 28th, 2016

This summer, I was privileged to attend a course at the Rare Book School. RBS is an independent institute housed at the University of Virginia supporting the study of book history and printing. …Read more.

Department of English: June 2016

Date posted: September 8th, 2016

in this issue

Interview with Shelley Costa/Faculty Notes/Attempt at Mythology/Past Faculty: Karl Thompson/Alumni News/Post-Grad/Renovation

Catherine Forsa, Eric Earnhardt, Kurt Koenigsberger, Cara Byrne,
Kristin E. Kondrlik, Kate Allen, and Thrity Umrigar. …Read more.

Commencement, May 2016

Date posted: May 16th, 2016

From left to right: Catherine Forsa, Eric Earnhardt, Kurt Koenigsberger, Cara Byrne, Kristin Kondrlik, Kate Allen, and Thrity Umrigar. Congratulations, graduates! …Read more.

Writing Instruction and Essay Awards Announced

Date posted: May 6th, 2016

From left to right: Peter Whiting, Director SAGES; Christopher Flint, Chair of English Department;  Hee-Seung Kang, Director of SAGES ESL Program; Eric Chilton, Lecturer, English; Georgia Cowart, Professor of Music; Dean Cyrus Taylor. …Read more.

Dave Lucas was awarded a Cleveland Arts Prize

Date posted: May 2nd, 2016

Dave Lucas is a recipient of an Emerging Artists Award by the 2016 Cleveland Arts Prize.
  …Read more.

Department of English: March 2016

Date posted: April 1st, 2016

in this issue

Interview with Jeff Morgan /Faculty Notes/Past Faculty: Lemuel Potwin/ Alumni News/England’s Impact on a Major/ Schedule of Events
March 2016

Interview with Jeff Morgan (American Comic Poetry)
CWRU: Why does comic poetry make people uncomfortable? …Read more.

Dave Lucas was awarded a 2016 Creative Workforce Fellowship

Date posted: December 14th, 2015

Dave Lucas is one of forty Cuyahoga County artists who will each receive $15,000 in 2016 through the Creative Workforce Fellowship. Awards are made in the disciplines of craft, dance, design, literature, media arts, music, theatre and visual arts. …Read more.

Department of English: December 2015

Date posted: December 11th, 2015

in this issue
WRC and Bellflower Hall /Faculty Notes/EGSA Mentoring/ Alumni News/Letter from the Chair/ Beachy-Quick Reading

The Writing Resource Center and Bellflower Hall
by Kurt Koenigsberger
About the Writing Resource Center

Pardee Hall, in its earlier years. …Read more.

Page last modified: December 11, 2015